# ACCESSNetwork Advisory Committee

## Meeting Minutes

July 23, 2013 ~ 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.

#### Present:

Lisa Smith, ACCESS Kevin Homistek, ACCESS Dale Santangelo, ACCESS John LaPlante, ACCESS Andrew Velchek, Mahoning County ESC Phil James, Columbiana Career & Technical Center Jason Martin, Columbiana, Exempted Village Schools Dennis Klaustermeyer, United Local Schools Tom Ventresco, Austintown Schools

#### Absent:

Ron Iarussi, Board Representative Chris Cardelein, Youngstown Community School Karen Marshall, Instructional Consultant, Technology Katrina Moore, Instructional Consultant, Technology Dean Pagnotta, South Range Local Joe Warchol, East Palestine Schools

#### ACCESS – Spring 2013 Network Services Customer Satisfaction Survey

The committee reviewed the results of the Spring 2013 Network Services Customer Satisfaction Survey. Comments provided within the survey were reviewed and discussed. Areas of discussion focused on training requests, which will be researched; local district support by ACCESS – network focused versus server; and filter, content and email offerings. It was recommended that a survey be sent to the technology list to solicit training needs/requests.

#### CIP – Continuous Improvement Plan

John LaPlante shared he is in the process of preparing ACCESS' CIP for submission in mid July 2013. The new filter migration, LMS and email migration will be added to our plan for the coming year.

#### Lightspeed Internet Filter

Kevin Homistek provided an update on the status of migrating schools to the new filter appliance. A letter will be sent to all schools with a progress update, as we need to make sure all schools are migrated by August 2, 2013. Keeping the M86/Trustwave filter in port-mirroring mode at this time along with the Lightspeed appliance in production is causing double filtering and issues. The M86/Trustwave appliance will no longer be support and needs to be removed from production at that time. The feedback to date has been positive from the district filtering as well as the mobile device perspective.

## Learning Management System (LMS) - elearning

John LaPlante shared that the ACCESS Board has approved the piloting of Schoology as the LMS system for ACCESS. An email will be sent out to districts with specific information detailing what is required to be part of the pilot process. The pilot is slated to occur in the September, October and November timeframe. Schoology is 81% ERATE eligible. The product does offer teacher web pages; e-portfolios, and kid portfolios among many other features. More information is forthcoming.

#### Email Migration – Google Mail – Apps, etc.

Dale Santangelo shared the status of the Google project. The Consensus Group has been contracted to assist in the migration of our current email customer base to Google. Dale is currently working with Becky Sabino to identify the appropriate district domains to be migrated, the hierarchy to be utilized, and even a student email convention that will suite all schools needs. More information will be shared with schools directly as this project moves forward.

## **ACCESS Bandwidth Increase**

ACCESS has just contracted with Time Warner (TW) to become their secondary ISP for Internet bandwidth purchasing 400 Meg of bandwidth. Aggregating TW and OARNet, our primary ISP, bandwidth will permit ACCESS to provide 450 MBps of bandwidth to the Internet at the beginning of the school year. As always, ACCESS will continue to monitor bandwidth throughout the school year to determine if increases are warranted.

## **ACCESS VolP Services**

ACCESS is in the process of evaluation an upgrade path for our Cisco Call Manager allowing us to provide additional features that have been requested. Two primary features requested at this time include Paging and Call Recording (on demand). We anticipate a migration to occur in the near future.

#### Membership

An email was sent to the technology coordinator distribution list asking for anyone interested in sitting on the NAC. Based on responses and an attempt to allow individuals who have never participated on the committee in the past to have an opportunity, the following members will serve on the committee for the coming years.

Tom Ventresco, Austintown (2015) Dennis Klaustermeyer, United (2015) Phil James, CCCTC (2014) Jim Graham, West Branch (2015) Joe Warchol, CCESC Katrina Moore, IC, CCESC

intown (2015)David Whorten, Springfield (2015)yr, United (2015)Daryl Miller, Crestview (2015)(2014)Chris Cardelein, YCOM (2014)ranch (2015)Jason Martin, Col Exempted (2015)CESCKaren Marshall, IC, MCESCRon Iarussi – ACCESS Board Representative

Meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Lisa Smith

Network Advisory Committee Minutes July 2013